Why am I here?

To be honest going to university wasn’t a part of my so-called “life plan” for a long time. Throughout high school I had never really given the option of higher education a thought and left halfway through year 11. At the time I had decent work so I thought nothing of it, and my family had never seen university of high importance considering that most of them managed to succeed without degrees. Currently I have been living out of home for six years and am 23y/o over time I have realised that my perspective at seventeen was a limited one. Last year I completed the university access program at UOW College which has redeemed myself from previous teenage decisions.

Why am I here though?
I am here to keep broadening my perspective. Five years ago I had no idea who I was, what I wanted to do or even what was possible. Now I understand defining yourself takes a lifetime and that you don’t need to have a clear view of the future. Whilst I still harbor ambition towards a career in journalism I also maintain ambiguity in the specifics. I know where my destination is, yet there are so many different challenges on the way to it. Only through learning and experience will i begin to shape my own distinctive path.

 

 

 

Leave a comment